Super Basic Yummy French Toast

Good morning!  (Well, it’s morning somewhere)  And what better way to start a morning than with a delicious, filling breakfast?  I don’t know about you, but I grew up loving French toast.  I would usually have it every day at all-inclusive resorts on vacation, and then beg my mom to make it at home afterwards.

So, naturally, once my June Cleaver instincts kicked in, I wanted to master French toast in my own household.  So I put on my little homemaker apron, found a great Reduced Fat French Toast recipe right here, and so I figured I would try it, with a variation or two in there.

So, here are the ingredients you’ll need:

  • 1/2 cup egg whites
  • 2/3 cup skim milk
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 4 slices bread

1. Heat up a nonstick pan on medium heat.
2. In a wide bowl, mix together egg whites, skim milk, cinnamon, and vanilla.


3. Slice your bread slices in half diagonally.


4. Lightly soak the slices in the egg mixture on both sides, and cook in the pan, for about a minute on each side (sorry, I forgot to take a picture of this step).
5. Plate the French toast, and sprinkle with some icing sugar for added yumminess!

I used a bit more egg and milk, since I find the mixture tends to run a little low as I near the end, and I added more cinnamon (we looove cinnamon!).  I had some already cooked bacon in the fridge, so I served that as well.
Super easy and tasty breakfast!  And since I like sleeping in on weekends, this was quick enough to whip together while I was still only about half awake.  For a perfect morning, my darling husband made us some big mugs of hot coffee! Such a great way to start a day full of awesome!

Leave a Reply

