It’s That Time of Year

Ah, the holidays.  Cool crisp air, twinkling lights, delicious warm comfort food, smells of pumpkin, peppermint, and gingerbread, holiday songs in the air…can you feel it yet?  That special mix of childlike glee, shopping frustration, peace and love, and c-c-c-cold? 🙂

This year I’ve really managed to get myself into a holiday mood early, which is sort of unlike me (I usually mourn the end of summer and it can get me pretty grouchy).  Maybe it’s the fact that once Halloween is done, I feel so lightened and refreshed, seeing all those spiderwebs and skeletons replaced by glitter and ribbons and twinkling lights.  Maybe it’s the fact that this has been the first full year of our marriage, and I’m finding a wonderful happiness in the routines of our little family of two, having settled into our little home.  I don’t really know what causes such joy around this time of year, the kindness we show each other more of, the way charities and churches get most of their budget at this time, the gearing up for a new year full of promise and hope.

And so I’ve caught holiday fever.  I happily strung our lights up almost 2 weeks ago, and I’ve been listening to holiday music as I cook and bake and clean.  And I’m not even wishing for a white Christmas.  See, we’re in Canada, and I grew up in a part of the “snow belt”, where kids usually wore their snowsuits under their Halloween costumes, so if anything, I’m welcoming the strangely mild weather with open arms.  But in the spirit of this wonderful time of year, I thought I would take a moment to reflect, and put some positivity out there in cyberspace.

Faith – My faith is the cornerstone of my life, and I am grateful that it is stronger and more palpable than it has ever been.

Nick – My love, my life.  This amazing man covers me with so much love, that romantic gestures that belong in movies are his everyday standard.  He is the man of my dreams and much, much more.  I am blessed beyond words to have him in my life, as the strong head of our family, as a great provider, as my best friend in the whole world, and the love of my life.

Family – I am grateful for having one, and a wonderful one.  It’s a haven of love and warmth, it provides such wisdom and guidance, and it means the world to me.

Friends – Our wonderful friends are like jewels in a necklace, each one has their own unique shine and beauty, and our lives would not be as full without them.  Some are invaluable mentors, some are like family, some are spirited and vibrant like siblings, some we are connected to online… all are precious.

Home – Ours is small and cozy, but it is ours.  It is decorated and furnished by us, and full of peace and love and laughter.  Our view is beautiful, and we can wake up with the sunrise.  Our fridge and pantry are full, and that is a blessing I do not take for granted.

Toronto – This city is so wonderful.  Beautiful sparkling store displays, awe-inspiring skyscrapers, amazing diversity of food and fun, being able to live car-free, and an ever-awake, ever-buzzing hub that literally energizes me.

Security – Our neighbourhood is safe, where we can walk at night without fear, and where the sound of children playing is often heard on the streets.  Also, this year has been the first in a while where we have not had money stress (largely due to planning).  That has made life so much more peaceful, and has opened the door for us to give more than ever before.

Connecting – those small moments that remind you we’re all in this together, communicating freely.  I’m thankful that I can post here, and thankful for those who take time out of their day and read my words.  Thank YOU.

What are you grateful for?  Sending out warm (cyber)hugs to you as the holidays arrive.

Leave a Reply

