Les Miserables – A Heart-Wrenching Triumph

First and foremost, Happy New Year to everyone!  I hope you all had a joyous and wonderful holiday, filled with many smiles and memories.

Next, go see Les Miserables, seriously.  On New Year’s Eve during the day, we went to the movies to see “Les Mis”.  I am, among other things, a drama/musical theatre geek, and I love it.  This film was one that I had anticipated since I heard that Hugh Jackman has signed on, long before there were even any previews out.  I’ve always wanted to see “Les Mis”, and had never really gotten a chance to see the stage musical.  I’ve listened to recordings of it, and wished to see it one day.  Needless to say, I was super excited a movie version was coming out.  And I was not disappointed at all.

The film actors singing live really did make a difference, and created such raw emotion, you could feel it in the theatre.  Anne Hathaway’s beautiful softened rendition of “I Dreamed a Dream”  left pretty much the whole theatre in tears.  Hugh Jackman was of course a perfect Jean Valjean.  The ending (which I won’t spoil), left us all really crying, of both happiness and sadness all mixed up into an amazing heart-rending song.  The entire cast was lovely and convincing, and it was a magical journey.

A pleasant surprise in my opinion was Aaron Tveit as Enjolras.  He played the charismatic leader of the revolutionaries very well, and I could clearly see why so many would follow him into the uprising.  His singing voice was also great, and as a result a medley of Red & Black, Do You Hear the People Sing, and One Day More has been stuck in my head ever since.  I never even recognized him as the same guy who played Trip in Gossip Girl.

What I love best is how this movie, and story, defies the norm.  If you want to feel better about your lot in life, if you want to hear amazing music, if you want to have a good cry, if you want to travel back in time, if you want songs to resound in your ears and make you want to sing, and if you want a musical without the super-happy spontaneous choreographed dance routines, this is it.  Easily one of (if not the) best movies of 2012, go see it.

(Photo credit: http://www.impawards.com/)
One response to “Les Miserables – A Heart-Wrenching Triumph

  1. LOVE the fab new blog. Totally loved Les Mis! And thanks for including me in your blog roll… Such an honor! Congrats!
    Xoxo
    Marymac
    Pajamas & Coffee

Leave a Reply

