Fabulous Artichoke Spinach Dip with Chicken

Hi guys!  Since the weather’s been a bit crazy (and ridiculously cold) recently, I thought it was high time to pull out what has become a favourite recipe in our home, and it’s kind of healthy comfort food, kinda, still a bit high on the carbs and fats, but lots and lots of protein so yay!  Let me preface this by saying that when I ask Nick if there’s anything he’d like for dinner, after pizza he requests this recipe.  Super Easy Artichoke Spinach Dip with Chicken.  I love this recipe so much I could sometimes hug my crock pot.

Now the original recipe is here, found with the super-awesome Lydia at Rants from Mommyland, the fabulous blog about parenting, and the one that introduced me to T-boxes (go check out the blog, you will laugh and cry, and fall off your chair – in a good way).  I’ve switched it up a bit, and so I’ve included my version below.  It is literally so easy, I almost wouldn’t call it cooking.

Step 1.  Put the following in the crock pot, I just pile everything on top of the chicken:
3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (I cook straight from frozen)
2 blocks frozen spinach (600g, again straight from frozen)
2 cans artichoke hearts, drained
½ cup of water or chicken broth (optional, I’ll probably leave this out next time)
Crock pot on high for 6.5 hours, the time would be shorter with fresh chicken by the way.
Drain out some of the extra liquid (again, optional)

Step 2.  Use 2 forks and shred the chicken right in the crockpot, and mix up all the deliciousness so it’s fairly uniform.  Add:
1 block of light cream cheese (250g, I sometimes do an extra bit)
1 cup light mayo
1 cup parmesan cheese
1 normal sized bag shredded mozzarella (300-400g)
salt & pepper
garlic powder – generous sprinkle
Crock pot on high for an extra 2 hours, or a bit more, no hard and fast rules on this one.

Step 3.  Mix everything together until it looks uniform and amazing, let it cool a bit, and serve with tortilla chips or pita, relish in restaurant-worthy taste and enjoy only doing about 7 minutes of work for dinner!  I might even try using this with pasta… or tossing in some goat cheese… mmm…

Here’s a picture of the finished product.

Now, we’re only 2 people, and this recipe usually provides 3 or 4 dinners for us, and reheats really well.  I usually look for low fat, fat free, and no added sugar as a habit, so that’s a great way to keep it guilt-free(ish).  Seriously, give it a try, especially if you love artichoke spinach dip as much as I do, which is a lot.

Let me know what you think, or share some of your favourite recipes to chase away the winter blahs!

One response to “Fabulous Artichoke Spinach Dip with Chicken

  1. Pingback: Haven in the Cold | Dash of Pink

Leave a Reply

