Easy Spring Pad Thai

I’ll be sharing one of my signature recipes today. This one is a hit, especially when we have guests. I think it might be because Pad Thai is kind of a special treat for most, an exotic dish best savoured via takeout with mysterious ingredients that create wonderful flavours. It’s also deliciously light and flavourful for spring!

This recipe, which I customized, is really easy and tends towards more recognizable ingredients (because as much as I love Pad Thai, I am not keeping fish sauce). I’m also not big on tofu, so I left it out. I guess you could call this “western-ized” Pad Thai.

The original recipe that I based it on is here, but I made some adjustments. I use most of the substitutions (white vinegar, soy sauce), as well as changed the measurements to my own liking. That recipe is below.

Fresh & Easy Spring Pad Thai (serves 4)
1 package Thai rice noodles, cooked & drained
2 precooked chicken breasts, chopped
3 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 shallot, minced (I sometimes omitted or used onion)
6 cloves minced garlic
8 tsp soy sauce
4 tbsp white vinegar
3 tbsp sugar
2 eggs
ground pepper
2 cups fresh bean sprouts
2 cups fresh chives, chopped (I usually eyeball this based on the package)
1 lime
4 tbsp crushed roasted peanuts

Good prep makes this dish super easy. I usually start with cooking the noodles. Be sure to rinse them as well as drain, or they will stick together. Also, have your chicken ready to go.

And finally, I like to mix the sauce ahead of time. One more quick tip: as you’re going along, if it seems the sauce is drying up, feel free to add a bit more vinegar, soy sauce, and sugar (or just water) into the pan as you go.

Sauce: Mix together soy sauce, white vinegar, and sugar. Set aside.

Heat a wok (I just use a large frying pan) on high, and pour in the vegetable oil.
Add the shallot and garlic, stir until they start to brown.
Add the noodles to the pan, and stir to coat.
Pour in sauce, stir. Push the noodles off to one side, making room for the eggs.
Crack the eggs into the pan and scramble. Mix the cooked eggs into the noodles.
Sprinkle pepper over the entire pan. Add about ⅔ of the bean sprouts and half the chives, mix well.
Pour into your serving dish, sprinkle with a bit more pepper, and top with peanuts, the remaining bean sprouts and chives.
Serve with lime wedges and extra peanuts on the side.

As you can see, it’s pretty easy to throw together, and makes an impressive dish, which serves 4-6 easily, since we always end up with extra. I find it perfect for a lunch or dinner, and it tastes delicious as leftovers (I’m salivating right now just thinking about it). Here’s a picture of the finished product.

Have you tried it? Thoughts? Care to share your spring recipes?

One response to “Easy Spring Pad Thai

  1. Pingback: Takeout Chicken Fried Quinoa/Rice | Dash of Pink

Leave a Reply

