Easy Breezy Blowout

Around this time last year, the Duchess of Cambridge, Kate Middleton, was all over the magazines.  And for good reason.  She is an icon of modern elegance, poise, and class, with an approachable nature that endears her to most people.  And she’s a princess now, meaning she is the fairytale come to life of a common girl capturing the heart of a prince, and achieving her happy ending.  It was like a new British invasion, everyone wanted her wardrobe!  Her shoes!  Her wedding details!  Her honeymoon!  And of course – her hair.  Kate’s classic bouncy blowout became all the rage.  Sooo pretty!

I’m not Kate, but I can show you how to do a basic blowout.  Now, I realize hers has nicely curled ends, but I have naturally curly hair, so when I do a blowout, I want it straight and sleek all the way through, but without losing all the volume.Start with wet/damp hair.  Detangle using a wide-toothed comb.

Work a small amount of smoothing product into your hair.  I personally like Garnier Fructis Sleek & Shine Express Blow Dry Milk, available at any drugstore.  It has keratin, the natural substance that makes up your hair, and I’ve found it significantly reduces my drying time and sleekness, while also protecting my strands.Now, blow dry hair in 2 sections.  Sweep up the top half of your hair, and dry the bottom half well, pointing the nozzle down.

Next, flip the top half over your face and blow dry that way, this will create nice volume at the crown.

Once hair is mostly dry, flip to how it should sit for blowdrying finishing touches. (Tip: lift the top layer and gently blow dry the strands down, this will smooth down the varying lengths and tame a good part of the frizzies without using extra product)

To finish the style, run ends and top layer of hair through a straightening iron.

Use a small amount of finishing shine product, especially near roots and on ends, to give hair extra gloss and sleekness. My favourite is Satinique’s Brilliant Polish, because it’s very light and non-greasy.

And that’s it!  For a girl like me, with a lot of thick crazy curly hair, it takes me about 15 minutes start to finish, 20 if I’m being fussy and want to get it just perfect.  This is a great everyday polished look, also works great for a situation like a job interview or meeting, since it looks sleek and professional.

Do you have quick, pretty hairstyles you like to do?  Let me know in the comments!

(Photo of Kate Middleton from Radiant Salon at http://radiantsalon.co.uk/blog/?p=3109)
Leave a Reply

