Product Review: Legacy of Clean

So, cleaning has been big on my to-do list recently, especially with the move.  Usually sometime in April, I like to methodically go through every inch of our home and clean it out – closets, cosmetics drawers, all that jazz.  This year, I decided to delay a bit since we moved in early June, and now have a separate bedroom in the apartment – happy dance!

Don’t get me wrong, I don’t like cleaning… at all.  I loooove organizing, but usually as long as the apartment is tidy and uncluttered, nothing strewn around the floors, I’m more than willing to ignore minimal levels of dust and such.  Life’s too short for being a white-gloved old biddy anyway.  Of course, this is why we have a cleaning lady that comes to do the deep cleaning.

But when I clean, I’ve learned that good products can make a huge difference.  First, there’s the peace of mind from knowing that if you accidentally spill some on your hand, it won’t burn your skin – yay!  Also, the sheer gratification of seeing instant results from good products, and feeling like you’re in an infomercial.  And finally, the smell – the one thing I love about cleaning is the fresh scent of a clean home, it’s viscerally soothing to me.  This line of products has all of the above.

At home, we use Legacy of Clean (LOC) products.  Basically, our only non-LOC products are where LOC doesn’t make it, and there are very few of those.  Legacy of Clean has a really comprehensive line, which you can even buy in bundles.  All their products are plant-based and biodegradable, and have been since 1959.

We first bought the intro bundle when we first moved into the studio apartment, which includes the following:Laundry – 1L SA8 Triple Liquid Detergent – Floral scent, 1L Fabric Softener – Floral scent, 946mL PreWash (stain treatment), 1kg Tri-Zyme Detergent Booster, Free Stain Chart

General Cleaning – 946mL All-Purpose Cleaner, 946mL Glass Cleaner, 946mL Bathroom Cleaner sprays, and a 48-count box of All-Purpose Surface Wipes

Dishes – 500mL Dish Drops Dish Liquid – Citrus scent, 1.4kg Dishwasher Detergent – powder

This whole package comes together for about $75 here

Our thoughts: We really liked all these products, as well as the original Multi-Purpose Cleaner, which is the original product that was launched waaaaay back in the 1950s.  That one’s not in the bundle, but is amazing for everything you could ever imagine cleaning.

Due to our own preferences, we prefer to skip the Tri-Zyme and Fabric Softener and just use dryer sheets instead, because trudging all the way down to the basement from the 19th floor just to put in liquid fabric softener at the right time?  Sooo not happening.  I also prefer citrus scents, so when we bought refills, I got Original (citrusy) scented detergents instead of Floral.

Also, we found that just the one All-Purpose Cleaner (labelled as Kitchen on the bottle) worked perfectly for all our surfaces!  And the All-Purpose Wipes are one of the best things ever!  They disinfect and work so well, and smell good…. worth it just for those.

There are a whole bunch of other products too, like the Legacy of Clean Towelettes.  These babies are fabulous!  They’re basically nice towelettes you can use to clean surfaces or your hands in a jiff.  And I have a story about these.  I had heard that they do wonders for removing stains and cleaning clothes in a bind.  So I decided to try and hand-clean my wedding dress with these wipes, because I didn’t feel like paying more than the price of the dress just to get it cleaned.  It took a little while, and a bit of muscle, but I fully cleaned my dress using only these wipes, and it looks as good as new!

I love that these cleaning products are safe, environmentally friendly, and work better than any chemical variety I’ve ever seen.  They’re also not very expensive. I seriously cannot recommend these enough, and our cleaning lady loves these products.  

Have you ever used Legacy of Clean?  Thoughts?

(Pictures: Picture of Cleaning Lady from http://mrsdoubtfirecleaning.ca/soho/ Pictures of Legacy of Clean products from http://www.amway.ca/NickRaats)
Leave a Reply

