Light Summer Beauty – Tinted Moisturizer

Summertime, and the living is easy, or at least that’s how the song goes.

Many people love summer, and it seems to bring out the best in us, I find.  The glorious sun and warmth makes us happier, livelier, more likely to get outside, and healthier!  To add to that, a soft sun-kissed light tan does wonders for the beauty routine.  It was in summer, and out of necessity, that I discovered tinted moisturizer.

As a teen, I was obsessed with having flawless skin, but almost never did.  My skin was quite good, but I always seemed to have one or two blemishes somewhere on my face, or a hint of redness around my nose.  So naturally, this called for a foundation with good coverage, and I stuck to those formulas religiously.  I’ll discuss my current favourite in a different post.

Not only is it hard to have a smooth foundation, but my skin tone is very difficult to match for some reason.  I’m very pale, with a neutral/warm undertone, but so pale that even the palest of warm foundations or concealers looked too yellow on me, and left me with orange blotches.  Pretty, I know (not).  And so-called translucent powders basically need to be completely colourless and look white, or else those go all orange-yellow on my face too.  However, when I tan, I go dark, like hispanic looking within a two-week vacation.  So, my normal vampire-pale, medium coverage foundation would look ridiculous with a tanned body.

Since I didn’t really want to experiment too much and buy a bottle of each shade from vampire pale to Snooki tan, I opted for tinted moisturizer.  It boasts being a sheer coverage, so just enough to even out skin tone, and cover small blemishes, without totally painting me dark or totally whitening out my tan – yay!  Plus, hitting my late teens and then my twenties, my skin started to figure itself out, so I didn’t have nearly as many breakouts.

I use Artistry Tinted Moisturizer, and it’s fabulous.  It gives decent sheer coverage, and feels as if I’m not wearing any makeup at all.  It also has SPF 8, which really isn’t super good protection, but layered with my normal SPF 15 moisturizer, I’m set!  It’s the perfect veil of protection and kiss of colour, and I love (looooove) that it doesn’t clog my pores.  I buy it here ,and it’s only $28.95 for a tube that lasts me a decent long time, usually 2-3 months.  I use Tint 1 for everyday wear, and then switch to Tint 2 in the summer when I’ve gotten a bit of sun.  I love that Tint 2 is light enough that it doesn’t look bad if I’m still pretty pale, but works perfectly when I’m really tan as well.  I just use it like my normal foundation, dot it on my skin (often over primer), blend with a beauty blender, and then use concealer and loose powder as normal, as well as any eye & cheek makeup I want.

Like I said before, summer is an ideal time to lighten up your makeup look.  On weekdays, I use the following: Enchanted Garden eyeshadows and a hint of blush, the lightest hint of mascara, and something on my lips, a balm, gloss, or stain.  On weekends, just blush and lip stuff.  This season, you don’t really need heavy dark eyeliner, piles of mascara, and super-obvious lipstick, at least not during the day.
Do you have any beauty switches for summer?  Tried tinted moisturizer?  Let me know 🙂

(Photo of Artistry Tinted Moisturizer from Artistry US’ Facebook Page at https://www.facebook.com/artistryus)
One response to “Light Summer Beauty – Tinted Moisturizer

  1. Must Have Boxes

    I love wearing tinted moisturizer!

    – KW
    http://musthaveboxes.com

Leave a Reply

