Delicious Greek Yogurt Key Lime Pie!

Have you ever stumbled upon a recipe that seems to slap you silly, because it’s so awesome?  No, I’m the only dorky one?  Okay.  Because that is pretty much what happened to me recently.

On a whim, along with the normal plain nonfat Greek yogurt I like, I picked up some Oikos Key Lime Greek Yogurt.  Yes, I know, it’s 2% and it does have some sugar in it.  However, not a lot of sugar, and still has all the joyous benefits of Greek yogurt, namely protein and good bacterial cultures and sunshine!  So as I’m enjoying a few spoonfuls in the morning right from the tub, I am struck by the sheer deliciousness – it seriously tasted like Key Lime Pie filling!  And then as I’m flipping the tub around to see the nutritional info, ingredients, whatnot… what do I see but a recipe for Key Lime Pie using the yogurt???    So my (severely caffeine-deficient) thought was “Healthy AND easy Key Lime Pie?  Oh, it is ON like Donkey Kong!”  Yes, I say ridiculous things to myself in my head, especially before coffee.  Sooo…. long story short, and with a few modifications, Greek Yogurt Key Lime Pie!  Here it is folks 🙂

Preheat oven to 375.

Whisk together:

  • 3 egg yolks
  • 375g Oikos Key Lime yogurt (about 13 oz)
  • zest of 1 lime
  • 62 mL (1/4 cup) honey
  • 3 tbsp corn starch

Pour mixture into prepared 9” diameter graham cracker pie shell, bake for 30-35 minutes until set.

Chill for at least 1 hour in the fridge.

Top with whipped cream, and serve!

A few notes:

I didn’t have zest of lime, so I used a splash of lime juice.

Taste the filling as you go to make sure you have the right sweet to sour ratio for you – I ended up sprinkling in a bit of Splenda to sweeten it up a bit.

I baked mine for 28 minutes – the pie crust itself was pretty much ready so I didn’t want it to burn or anything.

Next time, I’m thinking of adding a drop or two of green food colouring, maybe to make the lime colour more vibrant.

This recipe makes 8 servings of yum!  And with only about 140 calories per slice, plus a decent source of protein.  A healthy, fruity, decadent dessert that won’t sabotage your smart eating – that is my kind of recipe!  Nick is usually pretty neutral about Key Lime Pie (whereas I loooove it), but one bite in and he said it was amazing, and that he was very impressed with my baking skillz.  So there you have it – a hubby approved recipe, which is a very important point for me.

What are some of your favourite summer recipes?

One response to “Delicious Greek Yogurt Key Lime Pie!

  1. Key lime pie and greek yogurt – two of my favorite things! I’ll have to try this recipe soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

