Mediterranean Pasta Salad

One of my favourite things about being a “grown-up” is cooking and baking.  As a little girl, I got to help, but the menu was mostly decided by Mom, and there were healthy staples that were almost always to be found on our table – usually meat was grilled, and paired with a fresh garden salad, especially when it was warm outside.  There were other delicious menus as well, but that’s the one I remember most often.  Once I was out on my own, I grew to love pre-planning menus, gathering ingredients, and trying out new recipes.  One dish that I definitely did not grow up with but love is pasta salad.  I find it delicious, flavourful, and filling, so I’m sure there will be a good amount of pasta salads on here, as well as pasta dishes in general.  Here’s a really easy one that’s packed with flavour, and perfect for a summer evening.

Mediterranean Pasta Salad (original recipe found here)

Makes 12 servings (likely as a side, maybe 6-8 as a main)

Ingredients

  • 4 cups rotini pasta, uncooked (I just used an entire 375g box)
  • 1 can (540mL) diced tomatoes, drained
  • ¾ cup light mayonnaise
  • 1 cup sliced black olives
  • 1 cup sliced pepperoni
  • 1 zucchini, sliced
  • ½ cup shredded parmesan cheese

Directions

  1. Cook pasta according to instructions.
  2. Mix tomatoes with mayo, fold into the pasta.
  3. Add olives, pepperoni, zucchini, and parmesan cheese, toss lightly to mix.
  4. Set in fridge to chill.
  5. Sprinkle on a bit more parmesan right before serving.

Yum!  You could also add chicken if you like, and I’m sure it would be delicious!  I served it as a side for hubby, and had some as a main for myself.  I love that it’s easy, and makes a nice big batch, perfect for a crowd, or to pack as a lunch!  I cut up the pepperoni and zucchini into thin slices, and then quartered the slices for a more bite-sized effect.

I’ll admit, I was a bit trepidatious when I made it, since there were lots of olives, which I know some people love and some hate.  I loooove olives, but Nick is more neutral towards him.  However, once I presented the salad, I had two small helpings, and Nick had three – so I’d say this recipe is definitely hubby-approved.  And as always, I asked it this was a recipe to repeat, which was met with a response somewhere between “yes” and “mmmm”, so happy dance for that!

Let me know if you’ve tried any new recipes lately that you’ve liked 🙂

One response to “Mediterranean Pasta Salad

  1. Don’t you just love cooking and baking! The salad looks great.

Leave a Reply

