Simple Oatmeal Breakfast Bites

All righty, who’s up for a quick make-ahead breakfast recipe?  (Waves enthusiastically).  Let’s jump in.

This custom recipe (that’s right, I made this one up myself) came into being when we were on a pantry cleaning kick.  As in, we decided to eat what was in our pantry for a while instead of buying new groceries in order to save money – woohoo!  And sometime around then, I glanced at some old fashioned oats I had, and thought about what I could do with them that would be kind of breakfast-ish, kind of granola bar-ish.  I glanced at the recipe that comes on the package for cookies, and thought “hmm…. with a bit of this and a bit of that, and some extra flavour, I bet I could make some pretty awesome muffins”.  So I did.  And they were delicious!  I’ve made 2 batches thus far, and they disappear pretty quick.  Plus, it’s a one-bowl recipe, so yay for easy cleanup.

Oatmeal Breakfast Bites

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup unsalted butter, softened
  • ¾ cup brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • ¾ cup all purpose flour
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 ½ cups old fashioned oats
  • honey
  • milk
  • cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350.  Line muffin pan with 12 cupcake liners.
  2. In a large bowl, beat or whisk butter and brown sugar together.  Once smooth, add in vanilla.
  3. Add flour, baking soda, and salt.  Mix well.
  4. Add in oats, mix again.
  5. Drizzle on some honey and add a splash of milk, mix very well.
  6. Sprinkle on cinnamon to taste (I like lots of cinnamon)
  7. Spoon into lined muffin pan.  Bake in oven for 10 minutes, then allow to cool for at least 5 minutes.

That’s it!  Pretty simple, right?  I made these in the evening, and I’d have one for breakfast or a snack.  They stayed moist for a good 5 days, so I was super glad about that.

Have you tried these?  Or do you have any favourite oat recipes?  Let me know 🙂

Leave a Reply

