What I’m Wearing: Pink Polka Dots

Do you ever have those days where you get dressed and just feel like you’ve really got it together?  That’s the power of a good outfit, it can make you feel sharp, positive, and ready to take on the world.  With that in mind, I figured I might as well post when that happens.  My main goal is to showcase easy outfits that are somewhat stylish, flattering, and won’t break the bank.  Basically cute, real outfits, since I’m sure we all see lots of $1,500 blazers which might be just a bit outside the budget.

So, here goes, the first of the What I’m Wearing posts.  Please pardon the frizz, it’s been hot and humid here in the big city!

Top: hot pink ruched cowl-neck top, Suzy Shier, bought in 2010

Bottom: black pencil skirt with some stretch, Suzy Shier, 2010

Shoes: hot pink and white polka dot peep-toe wedges (with a bow!), Suzy Shier, 2007(ish)

I can’t remember exact prices since these were all bought so long ago, but I’m pretty sure each piece was $20-25 max.  Not bad when you consider how long I’ve had them, and they still look good.

What I love about this outfit:

You cannot go wrong with a well-fitting pencil skirt – it is the simplest way to look elegant, feminine, and put together, especially in a classic (and slimming!) color like black.  This skirt is easily one of the most often worn pieces in my closet.

A pink top may seem very bold to some people, but it’s a staple in my wardrobe, and a cute top in soft cotton will feel great.  I like how the ruching, button details, and cowl neck keep it from looking too casual by adding interest.  This keeps the outfit office appropriate and youthful.

And the shoes – arguably the highlight of this outfit.  I really like matching a top to shoes for cohesion, and wedges are a comfy way to sport heels.  These are one of my favourite pairs of shoes, because they always make me smile, and I get compliments on them whenever I wear them.  I try to add something unexpected into an outfit, especially an office one, whether it’s a silky blouse, some statement jewellery, or in this case, statement-making shoes.

What are you guys wearing, any cute outfit ideas?  I’d love to discuss! 

Leave a Reply

