White Wedges, the Second Coming

This is another post about shoes, a bit like my black patent heels post here .  This post is about my beloved white Aldo wedges, which have experienced a rebirth twice now.

I first acquired these lovely white leather wedges when I was about 15 years old, I think.   Tough to remember that far back.  Anyways, they were gorgeous, and once again remarkably comfortable at a 4 inch heel height.  I wasn’t always too crazy about the winding straps with a belt buckle closure, but it added edge and style to the shoes, so I loved that.

Over time, they remained a favourite shoe, worn repeatedly every summer as a staple.  And over time, those straps became frayed, and it became increasingly difficult to close them.  So one day I decided to simply snip off the straps and have them as slip-on wedges.  It worked perfectly!  Clouds parted, choirs sang (okay, not really), and my shoes had a second life as casual cool slip-on wedges.  All was well in the shoe world.

Until, the unthinkable.  Walking down the street nonchalantly one day, I feel a strange loosening sensation in my right shoe.  Within moments, the strap pops out.  Not only that, but the sole is gaping away from the wedge itself.  I rush to Joe Fresh in search of emergency flip flops, and lament my lovely white wedges.  There may have been loving stroking and whispers of “I’ll never forget you”.  *sniffle*

Why all this fuss over a pair of shoes, you ask?  Well, because they feel as if I’m walking on a cloud.  Because although they provide all the flattering benefits of 4 inch heels, they have the stability of a wedge.  And because they’ve been a staple in my closet for at least 8 years at best guess.  And unlike many ladies, I’m not big on shoe shopping, so I really hadn’t planned on shelling out $80-100 for another pair of summer shoes anytime soon.  So, I prepare to give these beloved shoes a proper burial (in the garbage), when an idea strikes me.  I remember my father repairing my shoes as a little girl, using a C-clamp and contact cement.  I pull out the same supplies, and carefully run a thin layer of contact cement along the fallen strap.  Gingerly, I place it in its place, and clamp down the sides together.  I let the fallen shoe rest for two days, allowing the cement to cure fully.  With bated breath, I remove the clamp, and try on the shoes again.  Good as new!  Well, good as second form new 🙂

So there you have it, another shoe love letter, and also how to fix straps that have fallen out (and save yourself the $100 for new leather wedges in my case).  Anyone else playing cobbler these days?  Just me?  Okay 🙂

Leave a Reply

