Fresh Green Bean & Tomato Salad

One of my favourite things about warmer days is the glorious fresh produce that’s available.  After a winter of seeing sad excuses for fruit and veggies lining the aisles of the grocery store, I always feel a little happier when the warm weather kicks in, and the food looks, smells, and tastes far more appetizing.

I love my salads, and often I use the tried-and-true formula that I learned growing up: sliced tomatoes + chopped lettuce + optional onion/cucumber + olive oil + salt + balsamic vinegar = yummy house salad.  Although this recipe is delicious, I like trying new recipes and mixes of salad, and this one is a new simple spin on fresh salad that goes with anything.

Ingredients:

  • 375g (13oz) green beans, ends trimmed
  • 250g (9oz) grape tomatoes, halved
  • 1 small onion (or shallot), minced
  • 2 tbsp basil
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp pepper

Directions:

  1. Cook green beans in boiling water for 2 minutes, until tender but still crisp.
  2. Rinse and add to a serving dish along with tomatoes, onion, and basil.
  3. Drizzle on olive oil, vinegar, sprinkle salt and pepper.
  4. Mix well.

That’s it!  Super simple recipe, and I really liked the green beans being the base flavour, it made for a more interesting texture and flavour than lettuce.  I found that the 2 minutes in boiling water really made the colour a vibrant kelly green, and had just the right amount of crunch.  

I served this salad as a side with chicken burgers, but I think it would work just as well with grilled or roasted chicken, beef burgers, even steak!  It’s really versatile, and the basil gives it a really nice flavour that’s a little bit Italian.  Bon appetit!

Leave a Reply

