Three Ingredient Coffee Cupcakes

Does anyone love coffee?  Cupcakes?  If you’re like me, probably both 🙂  Well then, how about coffee and cupcakes all in one?  I think I just heard clouds parting and angels singing…

I found this recipe on Pinterest recently, and let me tell you, it was gone in a weekend!  A dozen cupcakes (or muffins if you prefer un-frosted) completely devoured between Friday evening and Sunday night, so it’s gotta be good.  Here we go!

Ingredients:

  • 1 box cake mix – I used Butter Pecan
  • 1 can white frosting
  • 10-12oz coffee – about the size of a large cup (290-350 mL)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Spray a muffin pan with nonstick spray, or line with cupcake liners.
  3. In a bowl, mix dry cake mix with 8-10oz of coffee, until it forms a nice batter.
  4. Spoon batter into muffin pan. Bake as per box, 20 minutes in my case).
  5. While cupcakes are baking, add the remaining coffee to half of the frosting.
  6. Allow baked cupcakes to cool for at least 5 minutes once done, and then frost.

Enjoy!

There are so many reasons I love this recipe.  The cupcakes are delicious enough to eat alone, unfrosted.  If you eat them unfrosted, they’re actually low-calorie, much like my pumpkin & mix muffins.  Even with the frosting, they’re not exactly low calorie, but they’re much less of a calorie bomb than regular cupcakes.

Also, the coffee.  I love coffee so much, and it’s a morning essential.  Using it as the baking additive made the cupcakes amazingly delicious and moist.  It’s also a super versatile recipe, I’d love to try it with a chocolate cake mix for mocha cupcakes, maybe with caramel frosting.  It’s also tasty enough that it just might motivate me to make my own cake mix, and then it can actually be from scratch – mmmm.

Anyone else baking with some java?  How did it turn out?  Or try this recipe, I can pretty much guarantee deliciousness.

Leave a Reply

