My Favourite Lip Balms

If you’ve been following this blog, you know by now that I really like makeup and beauty.  Although I like to have an easy to create look for most days, I’m not one to shy away from experimenting, or busting out a smokey eye or bold lip.  However, even more important than makeup is caring for your natural beauty.  That means taking good care of and protecting and pampering your skin, hair, nails, etc.  I know for me personally, my lips tend to get dry and chapped, which doesn’t look or feel nice at all!  That’s why today I’m sharing my favourite finds for keeping lips hydrated, soft, and smooth 🙂

1 – Body Blends Naturals Lip Balm

This lip balm is great for temperate weather, and is almost like a gloss.  It comes in liquid form, in a squeezable tube, and slicks on a nice, clear, colourless shine.  It boasts shea butter, beeswax, and beneficial oils for hydrating, as well as 9 organic extracts like bamboo and green tea.  It has a very soft sweet mint flavour, and I love that it is a natural product, and is free of sulfates, parabens, and gluten.  It’s a great product for light moisture, though I found it didn’t quite protect as well as I’d like in cold, dry weather.  You can buy 3 tubes for $14.70 plus tax here, so it’s a great price for a really great product!

2 – Nivea Essentials Lip Balm

I’ve been a fan of Nivea lip products for years, and I’ve really liked their tinted and Pure & Natural lines of products, but this basic one is an old favourite and a basic essential.  It has shea butter and something called Hydra IQ.  It delivers a very nice rich moisturizing effect, and it lasts very long, so I’m able to drink my coffee or water and eat, and it’s still there.  It’s also nearly invisible as well as free of any scent or flavour, so it’s great for men – Nick uses this one quite a bit!  I usually buy it at a drugstore, where you can get a pack of two for pretty cheap, and a single tube will last at least a few months.

3 – EOS Lip Balm

Oh my goodness, guys, this one is amazing!  These little spheres are 100% natural, and 95% organic.  They contain vitamin E, shea butter, and jojoba oil, and taste and smell amazing!  It’s like candy on your lips 🙂  The lip balm goes on clear with very little shine, but lasts very long, and you can almost feel the deep conditioning effects.  I’ve found this one layers very nicely with lipstick and gloss as well, so that’s an added bonus.  One little sphere will last a long time, but I picked up a bunch, I love rotating all the different flavours!  Pictured above, I have Pomegranate Raspberry, Strawberry Sorbet, Sweet Mint, Vanilla Bean, and Summerfruit.  This one is also usually available at a local drugstore for a very reasonable price.

What are your favourite picks, or have you tried these products?

3 responses to “My Favourite Lip Balms

  1. I love my eos! Got it yesterday and can’t stop applying it, so gorgeous.
    Mine’s honeysuckle and it rocks.

    I’m so jealous of you, so cheap and available in the States! ; )

    • Hi Catherine! The Honeysuckle eos is one of the only ones I don’t have yet, haha! They’re not super cheap since we’re up in Canada, but still affordable, plus there were a few sales recently, so I stocked up! Love the manicures on your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

