Homemade Gingerbread Granola

Happy New Year, sweet friends!  I hope you have had a wonderful last little while, filled with many happy memories and dreams.  I know we really enjoyed the holidays, seeing family, resting, and of course, planning and dreaming for the new year 🙂

Of course, now is the time so many of us make resolutions, whether it’s health related, money related, relationships, I’m curious, what are your resolutions?  Mine include making exercise a habit, as well as taking vitamins regularly, as well as eliminating all our credit card debt as a couple, and more future financial planning.  I’ve learned with health that making delicious healthy, natural foods is amazing for the body and soul.  With that in mind, I made this delicious holiday recipe with a few tweaks, and ended up with delicious, lightly sweet and spicy homemade granola/cereal!  Even better, you likely have most of the ingredients on hand already 🙂

Gingerbread Granola (original recipe here)

Makes 3 cups

Ingredients

  • 2 cups oats (I used quick-cooking since that’s what I had on hand)
  • 1 cup almonds, slivered
  • ⅓ cup olive oil
  • ⅓ cup maple syrup
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon ginger
  • 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice (I used a fair bit more spices than the original, so play with it to suit your tastes)

Directions

Preheat oven to 350.
Mix oats and almonds in a bowl.
Add olive oil and maple syrup.  Mix well.
Add all the other ingredients, mix well.
Spread mixture onto a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper, in a thin and even layer.
Bake for 15-18 minutes (I did it for 15).
Let cool completely, and then transfer to an airtight container to store.

We’ve really been enjoying this as our breakfast cereal, and it provides a good healthy start to the day!  I like that it’s natural, and I can control what goes in, and I’ve found it surprisingly hearty in a bowl of milk.  It’s easy, and cheap as recipes go, and one of those things that makes me feel very put together and domestic diva-esque, kind of like making my own cleaning or beauty products (which I don’t often do, but I feel nice when I do it) 🙂

What are some of your goals or resolutions for 2014?  Are you on a full-blown cleanse/detox, or just taking it one dish at a time, like me?

Leave a Reply

