East Texas Caviar

Hello dear friends!  I hope the dramatic weather this winter hasn’t dampened your spirits, and I know I’m definitely enjoying the milder temperatures right now.  We are now fully in the dead of winter, and after the tinsel-trimmed beauty of December, it can get a little dreary – that’s one reason I actually like Valentine’s Day haha!  It may be fabricated, but at least it’s a pop of fun bright colours!

Another way I try to keep the winter blahs away is by whipping up tasty food!  Well, I love making yummy dishes all year, but I find winter can be the toughest for me to be creative with – the siren call of easy carbs (and even mac & cheese!) gets harder to tune out, and I’m usually a bit reluctant to spend loads of money on produce because it has to come from worlds away.  Happily, I’ve got a recipe today that’s not only easy and healthy (and great for those resolutions), but also full of delicious flavour!  It comes from one of my favourite blogs, Biblical Homemaking, and she calls it East Texas Caviar, so we’re going with that 🙂

East Texas Caviar (original recipe here)

Mix together the following:

  • 1 can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed (2 cups fresh)
  • 1 can of black beans, drained and rinsed (2 cups fresh)
  • 1 can corn, drained and rinsed (2 cups fresh, I use frozen)
  • 1 cup cherry tomatoes
  • 3 green onions, chopped
  • juice of 3 limes
  • dash of cayenne
  • garlic powder, to taste
  • salt, to taste

Once well mixed, let sit in refrigerator for at least 30 minutes.  Serve over lettuce, greens, or rice.

I love this recipe because it has a really fresh tex-mex taste to it, and I’ve even eaten it just by itself!  I find I prefer to leave my cherry tomatoes whole rather than chop them like the original recipe, but that’s because the recipe lasts me a few days, so I like the tomatoes to be juicy!

It sounds like a simple light salad, but don’t be fooled – the chickpeas and beans pack a punch in terms of protein!  This is definitely a bit higher than you’d think in terms of calories, but it is packed full of amazing nutrients!  I love this option for a cheap, filling, and delicious vegetarian meal – and we’re not even vegetarians!

I am having a bit of a chickpea phase right now, seeing as I’ve also done Mediterranean Chickpea Salad, as well as Gwyneth Paltrow’s Chickpea Soup recently.  I’ll be remaking this recipe soon, and maybe tossing it over some broccoli slaw, yummy… and who knows?  Maybe this chickpea phase will last long enough to yield some homemade hummus!

Leave a Reply

