A Lovely Valentine’s Day

Hello, sweet friends!  I hope you had a lovely Valentine’s Day, and keeping warm in the (hopefully) last few weeks of winter!  We had a wonderful evening, and really a fantastic long weekend, since it was also Family Day on Monday here in Ontario.

So Valentine’s Day fell on Friday, and needless to say I had hearts and sappy love songs dancing around in my head all day – what else can you expect from a romantic like me? 🙂

When I got home, my sweet husband surprised me with the perfect low-key romantic night.  I was greeted by Il Divo music playing, and all the candles lit with their glow and sweet fragrance filling the apartment.  Nick also gave me a beautiful red rose, he’s so wonderful!

Next was dinner.  He whipped up an amazing steak dinner all by himself, which we enjoyed with his selected red wine, by candlelight.  I’ve gotta say, Nick’s steak done restaurant style at home is one of the best I’ve ever had, so this is always a treat!

For dessert, he had picked up amazing chocolate and raspberry cupcakes from one of my favourite bakeries in town – The Cupcake Shoppe!  (This was the same place I got our anniversary cake)  They were delicious!!

The evening was perfect and romantic 🙂

Thus commenced a perfectly relaxing and restful weekend.  On Saturday, we definitely scooped up some deeply discounted Valentine’s chocolate – a Lindor heart box, and a Ferrero Rocher one – and they’re both gone 🙂

Sunday, Nick’s parents were in town for the weekend, so after church we met up with his brother and had lunch at a dumpling house in Chinatown, which was so tasty and oh-so-filling!  Nick’s sweet mother also surprised me with an amazing pink trench coat and purse set for spring, so I can’t wait to start wearing those, they’ll get a feature post for sure!

After all the excitement, Monday was spent lounging around, relaxing, and planning for the future – because that’s what us weirdos do when we have spare time 🙂

Did you guys have a lovely (haha) Valentine’s Day?  I’d love to hear all about it 🙂

Leave a Reply

