Takeout Chicken Fried Quinoa/Rice

Hello, sweet Friday, and sunshine!  And I’m really hoping spring is coming soon!  Today, as promised, I’ll be giving you the recipe for my takeout chicken fried quinoa.  It’s actually adapted from a chicken fried rice recipe that is super easy and delicious, but the quinoa kicks up the healthy factor with no extra effort, so I like that.  It’s a super tasty recipe, and it really kicks takeout cravings, plus it can be thrown together quickly, which is why it’s so perfect for having guests over – you won’t spend all night in the kitchen, and you won’t be stressed either!

Takeout Chicken Fried Quinoa (adapted from Top & Exclusive Foods), Serves 3-4

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups cooked quinoa (or rice if you want fried rice)
  • ½ pound precooked boneless, skinless chicken breast
  • 1 ½ cups peas & carrots, frozen
  • 1 white onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 tbsp vegetable oil
  • ¼ cup soy sauce

Directions.

  1. Heat oil in a large frying pan or skillet on medium.
  2. Add onion, garlic, peas & carrots.  Stir until nice and tender, and the frozen vegetables are warm.
  3. Crack eggs into the pan, and scramble lightly.  Mix well with vegetables.
  4. Add rice, chicken, and soy sauce to the pan.  Mix well, until the soy sauce is evenly spread.  Remove from heat.
  5. Serve and enjoy!

A few notes about this recipe:

  1. I’ve used both grilled and slow cooker shredded chicken, and both work great!
  2. I like to use a bit more vegetables for extra flavour.
  3. For the onion, I sometimes sub in a good amount of dried minced onion, a simple trick if you don’t want to deal with the chopping onions & crying conundrum.
  4. The original recipe calls for sesame oil instead of vegetable oil, but I had vegetable on hand.  I find canola is a nice neutral flavour to work with.
  5. Don’t be afraid to add some more seasonings!  I find that pepper, garlic powder, and extra onion can be a nice kick of spice.

When I was making this for our dinner with friends, I realized that I do a fair bit of faux Asian cooking (like my version of pad thai) – faux because I know well enough that takeout is nothing like the original dishes served overseas.  I really like it, though, because once you’re done the prep work, like precooking chicken and rice, the actual cooking part is very easy and quick.  This is great because I can prep in larger quantities, and then whip up the dishes right before serving!  That makes these dishes great for both entertaining and busy weeknights.  The only caveat I have is make sure your cooking dish is big enough, and if not, work in batches – I’ve have to deal with overfilled frying pans on an occasion or two, and it’s harder to do all that mixing!

Anyone else making takeout food at home?  Or foraying into another nationality of food?

Leave a Reply

