Let’s Go Crazy (The Biker Jacket)

This post came about as part of the Daily Prompt tagline.  I don’t do all of them, but the ones I do, I like to post.  Here is the challenge:

Daily Prompt: Let’s Go Crazy by Krista on March 7, 2014

Sometimes, we act on impulse: it could be something as small as ordering that special dessert on the menu, maybe asking out that cute boy or girl, or as large quitting your job and selling everything you own to become a shepherd in New Zealand. What’s the most crazy, outrageously impulsive thing you’ve ever done? If you’ve never succumbed to temptation, dream a little. If you gave yourself permission to go a little crazy, what would you do?

Photographers, artists, poets: show us IMPULSE.

I can honestly say that I’m not very impulsive.  Sure, I may give in to occasional, harmless impulses (read: chocolate, buying a new lipstick, etc.), but nothing overly scary – in fact my first reaction to this challenge was that the craziest thing I would likely do is dye my hair blonde!  Nevertheless, there was one instance that was impulsive, and maybe even a little unwise on my part, but I don’t regret it.

It was the fall of 2010, and I had just been through a pretty stressful summer of moving, co-op jobs, and a few other upheavals.  Now all of a sudden I was back in Waterloo for the fall semester of third year.  It was also super difficult being apart from Nick, for pretty much the first time since we had started dating.  Seeing him every weekend helped so much, but being in Waterloo, I felt so alone.  Needless to say, I was tired, drained, lonely, and generally feeling a bit beaten down.  I’ve never really been big on retail therapy, but this was one time I definitely gave in, and it did help.

My email inbox is always full of Groupon deals, fun subscriptions and mailings from my favourite stores.  Well, one evening I got an email from Sirens promoting their fall line of biker jackets and jeggings.  I remember seeing the model wearing them, with the caption that it would be “all you need for fall”.  It’s not the same picture (the model in the email was sitting casually, and not quite so sultry), but the outfit looked a bit like this:

Something about that spoke to me, and sure enough, within 15 minutes I was out the door, on my way to the mall.  I picked up the cute cropped jacket and 2 pairs of jeggings (really just skinny jeans).  Luckily for me, they weren’t very expensive, I think I spent about $60 max on all the items.

Now of course, this probably wasn’t the brightest idea of mine, seeing as I was broke and barely scrimping by (let’s just say there was a lot of no-name Kraft Dinner that semester).  But looking back, I think it was just what I needed.  It was a small splurge that made me feel a bit better about my situation, and I held my head up a bit higher as a result.  And that jacket and jeans became my uniform.  Of course, I wore tops that were long enough to cover any midriff, but in my biker jacket and tight jeans, I felt ready for whatever the world would throw at me.  I felt tougher, stronger, and more confident.  I’ve always been the type to dress up a bit and spend a bit of extra time on my makeup when I feel down, but this was something different.  When I zipped up that jacket, I was saying “Come at me, world, give me your best shot.”  I was weary, but I had been a bit toughened up (emotionally of course, physically I’m about as strong as a three month old kitten).

It was an impulsive purchase to be sure, but it was within reason, and there were wounds that were bandaged up in denim and faux leather.  I still have those items, over three years later, and I still wear them.  That biker jacket is one of my favourites for fall weather to this day, but now it’s an old friend, well worn into wrapping itself around me so perfectly, a reminder that I did come through okay.

What about you guys, what’s the most impulsive thing you’ve done, or would do?  Anyone else feeling like a bit of retail therapy sometimes?  Or a big fan of biker jackets?

(Photo of Sirens clothing from the Sirens Facebook Page.)

Leave a Reply

