DIY Phone Cover

Do you ever have those moments when, maybe out of boredom or a hare-brained idea, you try something new and kooky?  That’s pretty much what I did recently (I blame the neverending winter), and made my very own (custom!) smartphone cover.  But let’s back up a bit to see how we got here.

A while ago, Nick and I decided to get some good smartphones.  With how much we’re running around the city, it made sense.  Coincidentally, our provider Mobilicity (we ❤ you guys!) was having a sale on some of their phones, including the HTC Amaze.  We were pretty impressed reading the specs, and decided to go for it.  I can’t remember the exact price we paid, maybe about $300 for each phone?  Anyways, we went in and got our swanky new phones.

I figured since we’d be hoping to get a lot of use out of them, getting the rubbery case and screen protector would probably be a good idea.  I really wanted a pink case for mine.  Are you surprised?  Didn’t think so.  Well, they only had black and white cases available.  Womp womp.  So I got a white case, and Nick got a black case.  Our phones are otherwise identical, so we wanted to be able to tell them apart.

Well, over time, my white case started to get kind of dingy.  So, a little while back I said “hmm…. I’ve used nail polish for other stuff, wonder if it would work here”, and I went to work.  I used Personal Accents Bubblegum Nail Lacquer, because I loved the adorable candy pink shade.  I just basically painted on an opaque layer without even taking off the case, and left it to dry and cure on a table overnight.  By morning, it was fully cured, and had the feel of a candy coated shell, so I was very happy about that.  To be extra sure and seal the colour in well, I also topped it, predictably, Personal Accents Quick Dry Top Coat the next day.  This is a prime example of use what’s on hand, I guess.  So now I have an adorable pink phone that makes me smile every time I use it.  What do you think?

 

I might do a design or stencil down the road, but for now I’m loving the solid colour.  Have you guys done any little crafts lately?  Or used nail polish for non-nail painting fun?  Let me know 🙂

 

 

One response to “DIY Phone Cover

  1. It’s actually very difficult in his active life to listen news on Television, therefore I just use web
    for that reason, andd get the newest information.

Leave a Reply

