Summer Style Updates – Closet Swap Campaign for Raise.com

Hello, dear readers!  Summer is finally upon us, hurray!  Picture me doing a ridiculously dorky happy dance through a rainbow, because that’s basically how I feel whenever the warm weather returns.  And with summer we have a chance to wear summer outfits!  This is very exciting, because we can show our legs and toes and arms again without all of those limbs freezing into numbness.  Not too long ago, I was contacted by Jessica from Raise.com to be a part of their “Closet Swap” campaign highlighting how I’d be transitioning my style into summer – of course I said yes, and that’s how we got here!  So without further ado, my favourite style tips and trends for summer:

1. White & Light Colours – even if you’re not vacationing in Cabo San Lucas or Mykonos, looking the part will make your day feel more special.

For casual settings, like running errands, hanging out at a beach or pool, or going to a fun patio, I love this beachy white dress – it’s a cute little H&M piece (similar here), and I love wearing it with a big colourful necklace and comfortable white wedges, like in this picture.

For work and dressier occasions, I picked up this sleek shift dress from Venus (similar here), which is a light ivory/cream with black lace detailing.  It’s the perfect silhouette, and thanks to the lace needs very little embellishment.  I usually wear it with a delicate bracelet and earrings, and here I’ve paired with red peeptoe heels that have roses on them to give it an added touch of colour.

Of course, an airy white maxi dress is perfect for that beachy vibe (similar here).  This is one of my favourites from a vacation in Mexico, paired with bare feet and kisses!  

2. Bright Colours – let the natural beauty of the season’s gorgeous blooms and juicy fruits inspire you!

This thrift store find makes me feel like I’m off to pick flowers or berries, and I always get compliments on it.  Here, I’ve paired it with simple white flats and sunglasses.

An old favourite, this sweet jersey dress from Venus (available here), with a simple silhouette that adds interest due to the zipper and slight shimmer in the side panel fabric.  This dress basically feels like pajamas, and looks super cute – I’ve worn this both for adventuring (with flip flops and shades) and in the office with heels!

And I can’t leave out the classic fitted party dress from Sirens.  This one is a lipstick red, and always looks great for a night on the town!  Here, I’ve paired it with red lips and a fun silver clutch for a dinner cruise around Toronto’s waterfront.

3. Pops of Colour on Neutrals – Simple black and white will always look amazing, but why not dress it up with a splash of colour?

Here, I’ve paired a simple black bustier top and white eyelet skirt.  To add colour, I’ve added a wide red belt to cinch the look together, and red rose peeptoe heels.

This is another cute party dress from Venus, black with paillettes all over it.  For fun, I’ve paired it with bright pink satin heels for a fun night out.

This outfit is one of my all-time favourites – a black bustier top with a frilly white skirt with black lace detailing from Le Chateau! (Fun fact:  This is the exact outfit I was wearing when I met my husband, 5 years ago!)  I chose to wear it with simple black patent pumps (these ones), and let the neon pink clutch from Aldo shine.

4. Accessories – the easiest (and often most budget-friendly) way to change your style for the seasons.  I’ve already mentioned a few, like adding a fun pair of bright heels, a big necklace, or a fun clutch, and for summer – sunglasses!

This is the same red party dress from before, but instead of the silver clutch, I paired it with a fun flower in my hair and silver heels, super cute and feminine!

Here, I’m wearing the blue version of the zip neckline jersey dress from Venus, but this time with delicate black sandals from Naturalizer, sunglasses, and my beloved Aldo clutch, which has a cool chain to wear as a crossbody bag.

There you have it, my 4 simple ways to update your style for summer.  Don’t be afraid to try a new colour or combination, flaunt your favourites (did someone say pink?), and enjoy all the open-toed, light fabric, shorter hemlines you can while the weather is right for it.

Also, be sure to check out Raise.com, the great company that is running this campaign!  They work based on an awesome idea – you can buy discounted gift cards there, and sell unused gift cards for cash!  It works really well to save money, since you have so much variety, and you can get exactly what you want!

Happy styling, and shopping!

4 responses to “Summer Style Updates – Closet Swap Campaign for Raise.com

  1. Hey, nice post! I’m Cameron and I’m very interested in fashion and style. I think you would enjoy my posts; I would really appreciate a follow back! Thanks!

  2. All your dresses suits you, you looking nice, beautiful in these, perfect.

Leave a Reply

