Little HomeSense Treasures

A little while ago, I went on a mini shopping spree.  I’m not really one for shopping sprees anymore usually – there’s the fact that I’m cheap (ahem, frugal), and while my teenaged self loved to see the offerings at the mall and spend hours browsing either alone or with friends, I’m far more impatient nowadays and prefer to shop online.  But as luck would have it, I had a $25 gift card to HomeSense (kind of like HomeGoods in the US) sitting around, and finally I decided one evening to go out and find something to use it for.

Let’s just say that for a girl who’s used to Ikea and online, it was a bit overwhelming at first – what did I want?  A sweet decorative dish?  Linens?  A pretty lamp?  Vases, throw pillows, fancy sauces and cookbooks?  I remembered why I tend to shop online!  But eventually I settled upon two items, and I’ve really liked them ever since.

First up, this cute little organizer caddy/doodad.  I like it because it’s a great little spot to thow papers that need to be dealt with, emptying pockets, and collecting those little knick-knacks that tend to become clutter if they’re allowed to roam free.  It also has a really small footprint on the desktop, yay!  It was quite the bargain, but I love the rich espresso leather finish with detailing 🙂

The other item was more on the pretty/frilly side.  I love scented candles, so this beautiful (pink!) one caught my eye.  Not only is the shape and colour nice, but it smells good enough to eat!  Not overly sweet or fake, just as if I’ve been baking delicious cakes all day….. mmm, cake…

They’re little touches, but I thought them sweet, and part of how we make our place really a home.  What do you think?  Are any of you guys scented candle fiends like me?  Any organizing-lovers?

 

Leave a Reply

