HCG P3 Cheesecake

This spring, Nick and I both went on the HCG diet to cleanse and reset our metabolisms.  While on maintenance, we were allowed to eat whatever we liked except sugar and starch.  This time around, we were on maintenance when his birthday rolled around, so I set about finding a birthday cake that we could eat then.  Lucky for me, he likes cheesecake far more than regular cake, and I was able to find a perfect recipe!  Full disclosure – yes, it’s “diet” in that the recipe was perfect for maintenance phase of HCG, but this cake is very rich, and still pretty hefty on the calorie counts, but sooo worth it.

HCG P3 Cheesecake (Adapted from My HCG Cooking)

Ingredients

  • 1 cup ground pecans or almonds (I used almond meal)
  • 2 tbsp sweetener
  • 3 tbsp butter, melted
  • 4 8-oz packages of cream cheese (I used light)
  • 1 cup sweetener
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup plain yogurt (I used Greek yogurt)
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 4 tbsp no sugar added jam (I used raspberry)

Directions

For the crust:

  1. Mix together ground pecans or almonds, 2 tbsp sweetener, and melted butter.
  2. Press mixture into bottom of a 9-inch cake pan (I lined mine with parchment paper before), and bake at 325 for 10 minutes.  Then turn oven up to 450.

For the filling:

  1. Beat together cream cheese, and 1 cup sweetener until well mixed.
  2. Add in 4 eggs, one at a time, and mixing well in between.
  3. Add in yogurt and 1 tbsp vanilla.
  4. Once well mixed and uniform, pour over crust.
  5. Bake at 450 for 10 minutes, lower heat to 250 and continue to bake for one more hour, or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Let cool completely.

For the topping:

Warm no sugar added jam of your choice for about 20-25 seconds in the microwave, until thinner and glaze-like in consistency.  Spoon over cheesecake, and spread carefully to cover the cake.  Chill in the refrigerator for at least a few hours before serving.

Of course, I also added candles and sang Happy Birthday to my sweet husband, but that part’s not really in the recipe 😉

This cheesecake was so delicious and easy that I would happily make it again, but one slice was more than enough to fill us up!  We even had it for breakfast later on.  I know lots of people who are wary of artificial sweeteners, so you could use stevia or xylitol, or even plain old sugar if you’re not on HCG Phase 3.  I used a sweetener that measured out the same as sugar (like Splenda), so it you’re using something different, you may need to change up the measurements for sweetener.  For us, this turned out with that perfect balance of sweet and creamy, so it was a hit!

Anyone else doing sugar-free baking?

Also, what’s better – cake or cheesecake?  Chime in, I’d love to get your thoughts!

 

Leave a Reply

