The simplicity of limited manicure options

Hello, dear sweet readers!  By now, you know that one of the areas Dash of Pink has a focus on is beauty.  While I love experimenting with fun new looks and methods, this is about my decision, in one area, to do the complete opposite and cut back!  As much as I love pretty things and pleasing aesthetics, I also find the simplicity and peace of minimalism very appealing, so I’m always striving to streamline, and this time I decided to attack my nail polish collection.  I’m admittedly a bit of a beauty junkie, but I found myself going back again and again to the same few colours.  Also, nail polish tends to get goopy and start to dry out and separate well before the end of the bottle is reached, so this should save some money as well.

Once upon a time, I had a wide rainbow of colours:  ballet slipper pink, Barbie pink, dusty rose, fuschia, red, wine, coral, nude, white, silver, pale lavender, deep purple, magnetic greyish purple, and black.  I loved all these colours, but my favourites were pink, red, and a sweet neutral like a French manicure.  So as these shades began to need replacing, I decided to simplify.  Eventually I whittled the rainbow down to 3:  red, bright pink (the colour I wore on our wedding day), and black.

The black I don’t even wear on my nails.  I’ve found that it works wonders on black shoes that have scuffs or peels, so I keep a black polish on hand for shoe repair haha!  For nails, I’ll stick to my two favourite mani shades, and I picked up a nail pencil for making a natural looking French mani.  Using those and a good top coat, here’s what I’ll be sporting for a while.

Bright Pink – this one is called Fuschia Power by Sally Hansen Hard as Nails.  I used to wear Rimmel Lasting Finish Pro Nail Lacquer in Posh Pink, as that was the exact product I used for my wedding manicure, but switched because I couldn’t find information online about whether the Rimmel one was 3-Free.  They’re the exact same shade though, so I’m glad I found this one!  This is my signature, and my favourite colour in general!

Red – I use Right Said Red by Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure.  I know that all Sally Hansen nail colours are 3-Free, and a whole bunch of them are also free of formaldehyde resin and camphor.  I’m a pink girl through and through, but I do believe that red nails are a timeless classic, and sometimes you just want to evoke that old Hollywood glamour – plus it’s great for Christmas, Valentine’s and Canada Day/4th of July!

Neutral – Hands down (no pun intended) the easiest option.  I simply use the nail pencil as directed, and either buff my nails or slick on a top coat – foolproof fabulous French-ish!

There you have it, my little step towards a simpler, more streamlined routine.  Do you have a few favourite manicure looks?  Or do you like trying something new every time?

Leave a Reply

