Easiest Baked Sweet Potato Fries

Hello, darlings!  I’ve got a fun little recipe for you all today, but first let’s chat a bit about food – a topic I like far more than I should.  You see, recently Nick and I signed up for a food box program – Fresh City Farms to be specific, here in Toronto.  The basic idea is that we pay a fee, and they drop off fresh, organic, mostly locally grown produce.  So far, we’ve been loving it!  We’re just dipping our toes in as we tried the smallest sized bag and the bi-weekly plan instead of the weekly, but we’ll see how it goes!

Well, in our first delivery, we received some tasty sweet potatoes (along with lettuce, baby spinach, tomatoes, radishes, green onions, nectarines, pears, rhubarb – it’s a good variety).  So in the efforts to cook and eat healthier, I’m trying to not plan menus until I see what we get, and then plan accordingly based on what the Produce Fairy brought us (and of course using our Nutrafarms chest freezer for delicious protein!).  When I saw the sweet potatoes, I got excited.  Not only are they full of nutrients, but they are tasty!  So I was very happy to find a simple recipe for Baked Sweet Potato Fries.  Personally, I don’t really see myself making actual fries very often (like in a fryer/deep frying), and I’ve accepted the fact that the signature burger joint crunch just won’t be there when they’re baked.  I really like the way the flavours come out when baked though, since they seem a bit more caramelized and concentrated.  So I found a good recipe, put my spin on it, and surprised Nick with a side dish to burgers that he loved!  It’s so easy and simple, all you need to make sure you have is sweet potatoes, everything else is likely already in your kitchen!

Baked Sweet Potato Fries (adapted from Food.com)

You’ll need: sweet potatoes (1 medium-large one is enough for 2 servings as a side), sea salt, pepper, olive oil

Preheat the oven to 450.  Grease a baking sheet, or line with parchment paper.

Chop the sweet potatoes into thin strips that resemble fries.  Feel free to leave the skin on, I did.

Arrange potatoes in a single layer on baking sheet.

Sprinkle with sea salt and pepper, and very lightly drizzle with olive oil.  Give it a shake to toss a bit.  Alternatively, drop them into a zip bag along with the olive oil, salt, pepper, and shake it all up for a fuss-free method. Then empty the bag onto the baking sheet, and arrange into a single layer.

Bake for 10 minutes, shake again to distribute seasonings, and then bake for another 10 minutes.

Let cool for a few minutes, and then enjoy!

I served these with a tasty garlic mayonnaise for dipping.  Ketchup or any other favourite dip would work well, but I love the way the garlic mayo plays with the natural spice and sweetness of the potatoes.

We enjoyed these fries along with homemade burgers and a garden salad, which was also fully made from our Fresh City bag ingredients.

What have you guys been cooking up with all the deliciousness summer brings?  Anyone else making sweet potatoes?  And have you ever tried a food box/CSA program?  Chime in, I’d love to hear your thoughts!

 

Leave a Reply

