Naturally Lovely: Homemade Linen Spray with Essential Oils

Hello, dear friends!  Well, here we go, jumping into a new season.  Summer is drawing to a close, which always saddens me a bit, but autumn comes with its own joys.  There’s a crisp freshness in the air, and thoughts of beautiful new notebooks and fresh supplies dance in our heads.  The perennial favourite Starbucks drink, the Pumpkin Spice Latte, has made its appearance, and I’ve noticed Halloween candy lining store shelves (far too soon, in my opinion).  Often with all of these fresh starts comes a renewed resolve for improvements and goals, and I’ve been getting into some good habits over the summer that I’m now carrying into my full-time routine.

One of these is using essential oils.  I’ve been seeing them all over the internet since the spring, but didn’t really try anything myself until the summer, and now I’m loving them and trying to find all kinds of different ways to use essential oils!  I love the idea of using as much naturally sourced as possible around the home and on my body, and the cost savings are fantastic as well!  So as I try different little recipes and uses that I like, I’ll be sharing them with you guys 🙂

Which brings me to today’s topic – linen & fabric spray.  This is an item that I never really thought about, but then it grew on me.  I first took note of it when I was at a hotel and a little lavender linen spray was included in the little satchel with shampoo, shoe polish, etc. It was nice to spritz on the bed, but I didn’t really think much of it.  Well, a little while went by and I started to like the idea of adding a linen freshening spray to my evening routine getting ready for bed – except that most linen sprays I saw had lots of chemicals that I didn’t really want to lie in.

Then out of the blue, one of my close friends suggested to me her method for refreshing linens – homemade spray with essential oils!  I was on board!  Here’s how I make it:

Mix 3 drops lavender essential oil with about 1/2 tbsp rubbing alcohol into a 100mL spray bottle, and fill bottle with water. Give it a good shake to mix it all together, and you’re done!

Test a bit on some fabric before you use, just to make sure it doesn’t stain (though I’ve had no issues with cotton).  Shake it a bit before spraying and spray on your bed sheets and pillow at least a few minutes before hopping in to bed so it can dry fully.

Super easy and cheap, and I love the smell!  I used to not like lavender, but I think I’ve gotten used to it, and it’s such a calming scent so it’s perfect for nighttime.  I’ve even used it to refresh clothing items that I was planning on wearing again and just wanted to be extra fresh!

I’ve really been loving using essential oils, and I’ll definitely have more uses in the future, stay tuned!

Have you experimented with essential oils?  Found any uses that you love, or a favourite oil?  My personal favourite right now is pink grapefruit!

 

Leave a Reply

