Creamy Beet Fettuccine

Hello, sweet friends!  I’ve got a fun and a little unexpected recipe for you today – creamy beet fettuccine.  I know, I know…. huh? beets & pasta…. huh?  I was a little caught off guard by this one as well when I first saw it here on A Beautiful Mess, but I figured it was a small risk, and I like beets, and I love pasta, and it was pink!

This made a beautiful meal that was both pleasing to the eye and the taste buds – it had the delicious flavours of the unexpected, kind of like trying something like salted caramel or Chicago style popcorn for the first time.  It also came together in less than half an hour, which is perfect for a busy weeknight dinner.  Here it is, with a few tweaks because I rarely follow a recipe exactly as outlined 🙂

Creamy Beet Fettuccine (serves 2)

Ingredients

  • 8 ounces fettuccine
  • ½ cup finely chopped beets
  • 1 small onion (or dried minced onion)
  • 5 cloves garlic (or corresponding amount of pre-minced garlic in a jar)
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1-2 tbsp olive oil
  • ⅓ cup ricotta cheese
  • juce of ½ lemon
  • 1 tbsp finely chopped fresh basil (or about ½ tbsp dried)
  • salt & pepper

Directions

  1. Scurb, peel (or don’t), and chop the beets finely.  Pro tip: wear disposable gloves to avoid staining your hands, or you’ll look like you’ve been finger painting with bright fuschia for a few days.  Finely chop the onion and garlic as well (or be lazy like me and just use dried minced onion and pre-minced garlic)
  2. Cook the fettuccine al dente.
  3. Preheat a large pan (I use my wok) over medium heat.  Add the butter and oil to the pan.
  4. Saute the onion in the pan for about 2 minutes – it starts getting delicious and fragrant here.
  5. Add the garlic and beets, cook for another 2-3 minutes.
  6. Add the cooked, drained pasta, with or without a bit of the pasta water.  Mix it all well, and the pasta will adopt a beautiful pink hue.
  7. Plate the dish, and top with lemon juice, basil, ricotta cheese, and salt & pepper.  I serve it with the ricotta in a dollop on top, but then mix it in right away before I eat, which makes for a deliciously creamy dish!

Pretty easy, right?  I know it might sound (and look) a little odd, but trust me, this is an amazing flavour combination.  My husband said it reminded him of pad thai, and loved it!  It’s rare that he loves a vegetarian dish, so I’m considering that a win!

Tried any unusual recipes lately?  Or do you like to drop the beet? (Sorry, couldn’t resist) 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

