Just in case you haven’t heard of this miracle in a jar…

Coconut oil!  Beautiful, gorgeous, luxurious, natural coconut oil… is there any blogger or pinner who hasn’t heard of this amazing product and how it’s basically the Swiss army knife of the beauty and personal care world?   I remember when (back in the 90s and early 00s) coconut was so exotic and rare, we barely ever took it home from the supermarket, and coconut water, milk, and especially oil were very rare to find in anyone’s home (or so it seemed, anyway).  Well, I too have been amazed, it’s become a staple in our home, and so I’m here to share some of my favourite uses for this miracle.

Oil Pulling

Coconut oil is one of the best to use for oil pulling, which is a great and easy way to detoxify your entire body – just swish around a spoonful of oil in your mouth for 15-20 minutes, then rinse well and brush if you’d like!  I haven’t fully gotten into the habit of doing it every day, since it takes about 20 minutes to do it effectively, but when I did it for even 10 minutes a day for several weeks, I noticed a marked improvement in my teeth and gums.

Chocolate Truffles

This was something I discovered on the maintenance phase of HCG.  If I melt together equal parts cocoa powder, and a blend of half butter half coconut oil, then sweeten to taste, it makes amazing homemade chocolate.  I like to make this and mix it with some peanut butter or almond butter in an ice cube tray, which makes delicious Reese cups tasting treats!

Hair Smoothing Serum

First, let me tell you about my hair so you understand how amazing this has become for me.  My hair has fine strands, but a LOT of strands, so it’s very dense, and very thick with body, and curly/wavy.  It’s basically a lion’s mane on top of my head, so it needs to be tamed regularly.  I’ve used lots of treatments, leave-ins, and serums in order to try and fight some of the frizz, but nothing has worked as well as coconut oil.  It smoothes my hair and leaves it with just a hint of tropical scent, without feeling greasy at all.

Body Moisturizer

Oh, this… is amazing.  I’ve seen lots of fun body butter recipes using coconut oil (and I will try some of them), but I’ve just been using it plain, straight from the jar.  After a bath or shower, I rub my fingers along the top of the solid oil, and then massage the now melted oil all over my body.  It is such a gorgeous experience, and leaves my skin feeling amazingly smooth and soft, and it absorbs well so it’s not greasy or oily feeling at all.  The coconut smell isn’t too powerful either, it is just the perfect kiss of sweet scent, and I feel like I’ve just had a luxurious spa cream applied.

There are myriad more uses for this magic elixir (cooking, baking, facial cleanser, etc.) but these are the ones that so far I’ve tried and loved.

What are your favourite ways to use coconut oil?

 

Leave a Reply

