Easy Kale Holiday Salad

Hello again, sweet friends!  I am back with a recipe perfect for the holidays, and a bit of a health kick to balance out all the delicious cookies and goodies that abound this time of year – my very own holiday kale salad.

It’s a twist on a Hungry Girl salad, and is full of delicious fresh flavours!  I don’t know why oranges and citrus in salads show up in winter, but I love that touch!  This yummy starter or side packs all the superfood punch of kale (you can also use spinach), as well as the delicious taste of mandarin oranges, the festive and tart wonderfulness of cranberries, and a homemade citrusy zesty dressing.  These measures of ingredients serve 6 as a side.

Toss together the following:

  • 7-8 cups chopped kale leaves (I often just tear them with my hands)
  • 1 roughly 300g (10.5oz) can of mandarin orange segments, drained (I use a bit of the juice in the dressing, so maybe keep a bit for that
  • ¼ cup sweetened dried cranberries

For the dressing, I mixed up some light olive oil, lemon juice, raw apple cider vinegar, some of the mandarin orange juice, pepper, and some herbs like basil and mint all in a jar and shook it up – I didn’t use exact measurements, just tasted and adjusted as I went.

Lightly drizzle on the dressing, and add a sprinkle of sea salt if you’d like.

Dig in and enjoy fresh, fruity, citrusy deliciousness!  Tastes good, good for you, and looks so pretty with the vibrant colours!

Who’s making some tasty healthy holiday treats?

Leave a Reply

