Simple Pumpkin Pie – Thrown Together Edition

So, a few days ago,  I tried making my first ever pumpkin pie.  Yes.  And I wanted it to be from scratch, kind of.  Allow me to explain.

I was at home and knew that Nick would be getting home late and tired, so I wanted to surprise him with something nice.  I remembered that pumpkin pie is one of his favourites, and thought to myself, “Well, I know I have a premade pie crust in the freezer, and a can of pumpkin.  Somehow with those and a few other things I’ve got laying around, I should be able to throw together a pie.”  Also, this was the day of American Thanksgiving so pumpkin was understandably at top of mind.

With that I took to the internet in search of recipes that I had everything for, since I had no evaporated milk or sweetened condensed milk.  So I found a recipe for a Paleo Pumpkin Pie using coconut milk, and made a few tweaks based on what I had available.  Here we go, Delia’s first ever pumpkin pie!

Ingredients

  • 1 ½ cups canned pure pumpkin
  • 3 eggs
  • ½ cup coconut milk
  • ½ cup sugar, plus a bit more if needed, to taste
  • 1 ½ teaspoon pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 ½ teaspoon cinnamon
  • ⅛ teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 frozen 9-inch pie shell, unbaked.

Directions

  1. Preheat oven at 350.
  2. Using a hand mixer, mix well the pumpkin and eggs.
  3. Mix in the coconut milk, sugar, pumpkin pie spice, cinnamon, and salt.
  4. Pour filling into the crust.
  5. Bake at 350 for 45 minutes.
  6. Allow to cool completely, and refrigerate for at least 2 hours before serving.

There you have it!  A pumpkin pie that is a little bit traditional, a little bit paleo, a little bit fast, and a whole lot of tasty!  I only say the last one because it was husband-approved, and by a husband that is quite the pie connaisseur from what I gather.

Do you have a favourite pumpkin pie recipe?  Ever tried making it with coconut milk?  

Leave a Reply

