Beauty Picks of the Season

Hello, sweet friends!  I hope you’re all enjoying the winter wonderland weather around us, as well as the wonderful holiday treats and tinsel!  It’s a beautiful time of year, and so I thought I’d share my beauty picks for this year.  Winter usually brings its own beauty challenges with dry skin and hat hair, but these essentials will keep you kissing pretty, should you end up under the mistletoe!

For body moisturizing – Winter can wreak havoc on skin, resulting in dry, flaky, and itchy patches, yikes!  Coconut oil, especially applied right after stepping out of the shower is amazing, but a more festive favourite of mine is the Triple Moisture Body Cream from Bath & Body Works in Twisted Peppermint.  It absorbs very well to soothe and hydrate and smells like delicious candy canes!

For hands and on the go – Hands need special care.  Not only are they more exposed to the cold, but also to drying hot water since we all tend to become a bit more wary of germs in the winter.  For that reason, I’ve been stashing a small tube of Arbonne Shea Butter Hand Lotion in Blissful Vanilla.  It’s a deeply luxurious lotion using amazing shea butter and with a sweet scent.

For hair – Hair is a tough one, since everyone’s is different and has unique issues.  I have lots of dense thick hair, but my individual strands are fairly fine, and it’s also curly/wavy.  For that reason, it needs lots of moisture.  I try to do a coconut oil mask every week or so and use generous amounts of conditioner in the winter.  For styling, I’ve been using a teensy dab of coconut oil as shine serum on my ends and lengths to keep frizz to a minimum and help nourish my hair as well.

For lips – Essential category for mistletoe!  Ooh, this is one of my new favourites!  I’ve been loving Arbonne’s Sugar Melon Moisturizing Lip Balm.  It hydrates deeply and has a great pink tint, plus has a delicious smell and taste that reminds me of candy sour watermelon slices!  

And of course you all know of my deep love for EOS lip balms.  Well, I stumbled across a new flavour this season – Vanilla Mint.  I knew how much I loved the Vanilla Bean and Sweet Mint, so that one came home with me as well 🙂

For a dazzling holiday look – ‘Tis the season for Christmas parties and New Year’s soirees!  For these special occasions, it’s fun to bring out the sparkles and sequins, and amp up the glamour for your makeup look too!  Here are a few favourites I’ve picked out of my makeup collection to help you get started.

  • A great red lip – classic colour and bombshell look.  Here I’ve got a gorgeous ruby lipstick by Camerata and Revlon’s ColorStay Overtime Lipcolor in Forever Scarlet (this one lasts for 16 hours without feathering or wearing off).
  • A dramatic lip – if you’re not feeling like wearing red, this is a great time to go dramatic and bold.  Here I’ve got Artistry Lip Colour in Ripe (a delicious bordeaux hue), and a beautiful sparkly lip gloss, Artistry Light Up Lip Gloss in Glamour.
  • For festive eyes – in a sea of smokey eyes, stand out with some glimmer!  Use a hint of silver eyeliner for a subtle nod to Queen Elsa, like this Artistry Eyeliner in Platinum Highlight.

What beauty essentials do you pick out in winter?  Any festive looks planned?  Do share 🙂

Leave a Reply

