DIY Whitening Mouthwash with Essential Oils

Few aspects of the human face are as meaningful as the smile.  That’s why keeping your pearly whites clean and bright is so important 🙂  So today I’ll be sharing a super easy DIY you can do to make your own cleansing and whitening mouthwash.

I first started being interested in this when I started trying to clean up my beauty and grooming routine, in an effort to live a more natural lifestyle.  Needless to say, seeing that I was swishing with a bunch of chemicals that I wasn’t at all familiar with made me really interested in switching up my mouthwash, and I’m so glad I did.  Here’s how I make it at home.

In a glass jar or container, simply mix together half water, half hydrogen peroxide (3%), and 5-10 drops of peppermint essential oil.  Close it up tight, and shake to mix well!

And that’s it, really!  I promised you it would be an easy one.  Now there are, of course, variations you can try.  You could add trace minerals to this if you have them, so it would be a remineralizing as well as whitening mouthwash.  You could also experiment with different essential oils, such as citrus, cinnamon, or even blends like vanilla-mint, or use some liquid stevia for sweetening the taste a bit.

Have you guys tried making your own mouthwash?  Or using hydrogen peroxide for personal care?  Share your ideas here!

 

Leave a Reply

