Naturally Lovely: DIY Foot Powder with Essential Oils

Welcome back!  Today I’m tackling a subject that’s a bit less glamorous.  In fact, it’s downright stinks.  I’m here to talk about… smelly feet – and more importantly how to cure them.

Smelly feet are not something that goes well with being a lady, but they are a simple fact of life, especially if you wear shoes like heels or flats with no socks or stockings – yikes!  I went into the drugstore to buy some foot powder, but found that it was over $10 for just a small amount.

Luckily, I found a cheap and remarkably effective DIY remedy that takes care of the problem beautifully.  Here’s what I do – in a small resealable sandwich bag, I mix together the following:

  • ½ cup cornstarch
  • ¼ cup baking powder
  • ¼ cup baking soda
  • 5-6 drops of your essential oils of choice (suggestions – grapefruit, lemon, lavender, peppermint)

To mix it well, seal the bag leaving a bit of air in it, and give it a good shake.

Pro tip: Make sure you label your bag, or else you’re walking around with an unmarked baggie of white powder, which might look a bit odd.

That’s it!  When you’re about to head out, sprinkle a little bit of powder into your shoes, and then gently knock the shoes against a wall or each other to disperse the powder.  Sprinkle some more if needed throughout the day, though I’ve never needed to.

I use this all year.  I first made it in the summer, since I was wearing flats and heels with no stockings, and I found those little footie stockings you can buy would stick out awkwardly.  In the winter, I need it just as much.  I usually wear high heeled boots all day with thin stockings, so it works wonders there too.

The only downside that I’ve seen is that sometimes if you take off your shoes, your feet might have a bit of white powder on them (mainly the soles), or your stockings, if you’re wearing those.  Of course, that’s to be expected with pretty much any foot powder, and much preferable to smelling and feeling icky.

So there you go, darlings!  This is how I keep my toesies daisy fresh all year 🙂

Any tips for giving your feet some love?  Or cheap DIY beauty hacks? Share here!

 

 

Leave a Reply

