Bring Home Some Romance

It’s the middle of the week, and it’s also 2 days until Valentine’s Day!  Yes, the sugar-sweet, hearts-everywhere, chocolate-covered, rose-scented Hallmark holiday.  It’s secretly one of my favourite holidays, and we don’t usually do anything too extravagant (actually, I usually don’t even care about the very day itself), but I adore seeing the world put on some pink and red and hearts.  So I thought I would share some easy ways to bring some romance into your home.

1 – Candles:  This is a classic staple for romance.  There’s nothing quite like the warm and flattering glow of candlelight.  Kick it up a notch with some pink or red candles, like these red tapers or rose scented tealights, you can even pull out your red or white candles from Christmas!  Why not spend one evening, or even just dinner, with only candles to light your home?  It will feel magical, romantic, and evoke the beautiful mysteries of so many thousands of years of nights when candles were the only way to light up the night.

2 – Sweet posters and artwork: This is the perfect time to pull out your most romantic wall adornments and pictures.  Wedding and engagement pictures are timeless classics, but for a more novel nostalgic spin, how about the sweet posters you maybe had when you were younger?  I have two posters from my university days hanging up – a beautiful black and white shot of the Eiffel Tower, and the entire balcony scene from Romeo and Juliet written out on a black background to form a rose.

3 – Flowers: Obviously.  Since I’m frugal, I have a few red silk roses that I keep around, and I make them the star of the show this time of year – they bloom beautifully every time, and for no extra money out of pocket!  Just put some silk blooms in a pretty vase and you’re set for a centrepiece.

4 – Romantic accessories:  Do you have some throw pillows or decorative blankets in romantic colours, or with sweet phrases and patterns?  Or pretty mugs that say things like “Good morning, beautiful?”  Grab them and enjoy the extra little bit of love they add!

5 – Love garland:  This was an idea I just came up with the other day, when I was taking down my Christmas card garland at the end of January (I know).  I decided to use the ribbon and make a heart-shaped spiral.  I have heart-shaped post-it notes, so I made one for the centre that said “Love”, and then thought how nice it would be if Nick and I wrote out some things we love about each other on heart post-its and stuck them to the spiral.  This is super easy and fun, and you can do it with kids too!  It’s a sweet reminder to see the love in the details.  Of course, leaving notes like this is always nice, like in a loved one’s lunchbox, or on the bathroom mirror (in lipstick if you’re feeling sassy).

Are you bringing some Valentine’s love into your home?  Let me know what ideas you have 🙂

 

 

Leave a Reply

