My Winter Essentials

Today, I’ll be sharing some of my favourite items this winter.  A few are some of my fashion staples, a few of my beauty staples, and a few items just for fun.  Here goes – my little list of wintery pleasures!

1 – My Long Leather Coat from Danier – This coat is beautiful.  I’ve had it for a few years, and it’s a gorgeous bordeaux shade of lambskin leather.  It’s lightweight, but lined with Thinsulate which makes it extremely warm.  I’m usually a peacoat girl, so this one didn’t get too much use until the extreme cold kicks in.  Once the temperature dipped way below tolerable, this has become my go-to coat in the mornings.  I love the length, which keeps me very well bundled up, and that it’s dressy enough for wearing to the office, but has a few edgy design elements.

2 – My High Heeled Biker Boots from Xelement – If you’ve seen my What I’ve Been Wearing posts, you know that these are the boots I kick on most often on my way out the door.  They’ve got the durable wear and ankle support of motorcycle boots (since that’s what they are), but also a well-designed 3.5” heel that lends itself to ladylike elegance.  The wide heel makes them amazingly comfortable to walk in, and I can easily wear these all day.  They’re also still available here.

3 – Arbonne Shea Butter Hand Lotion – This beautiful little tube is from the holiday collection, and I never leave the house without it.  I’ve found this cold winter especially drying on my hands, and this is one of the few creams that I can actually feel working and seeping into my skin in the best way.  I use it after every hand washing.

4 – Artistry Youth Extend Enriching Lotion – My skin is naturally oily, so I’m very careful about anything too rich on it.  But just a tiny dab of  this lotion on my face at night, and a small pump on my neck and decolletage in the morning and at night has been able to keep my skin soft and supple while avoiding dryness and flakiness.  It’s available here.

5 – David’s Tea Red Velvet Cake Tea & Teal Perfect Mug – I have a deep appreciation for simple things that are beautiful – a well designed lotion package, a pretty mirror, a beautifully designed candle.  The beautiful perfect mug from David’s Tea in their classic teal is one of those things – it makes me smile and feel pretty.  But inside the mug, this particular tea blend that tastes like red velvet cake and has a pretty crimson shade to it as well is amazing.  With a bit of milk or cream and some sugar, it tastes like dessert in a mug – yum!

6 – Zumba classes at the gym – I’ve recently started going to Zumba classes, and I think I’m totally sold on it!  Not only is it super fun and a great workout, it makes me feel so alive and even kind of sexy.  More than that, the fun latin-infused music makes me think of warmer climates and sunshine – I can almost pretend that I’m taking the fun dance classes poolside at a resort 🙂

How are you keeping pretty, stylish and smiling this winter?

 (Photo of boots from Leatherup.ca, photo of Zumba dancer from Zumba.com)
Leave a Reply

