Mid-Year Reset

Here we are, smack in the middle of summer.  This is my favourite time of the year by a wide margin, and I am loving the long days, sunshine, and magic that the evenings and midsummer nights bring (just ask Shakespeare).  Today’s post will be short and sweet, and I hope that it helps you as well, since we’re talking about goals and resolutions!  Last week, on Tuesday, I remember glancing at my calendar, and being shocked that half of 2015 is gone by – half!

While I know that time flies when you’re having fun, I must admit that when I looked back at my goals and resolutions for the year, I wasn’t exactly beaming at my progress.  Looking more closely at my goals and resolutions, I noticed a few things that were likely reasons why I wasn’t further along:

  1. Some of my goals were either not realistic, out of my control, or no longer applied.  For example, aiming to have all our pictures hung on our wall and a new paint colour on the walls – except that we have moved into a shorter term rental, where we are expressly asked not to make holes in the walls or change the permanent decorative elements (paint, curtains, etc.).  So while there might be some Command hooks in our future to keep the walls intact, this goal is no longer applicable.
  2. I had too many goals.  I had 21 goals and resolutions, of varying importance and benefit.  While they are all certainly worthwhile goals and possible, I could clearly see a lack of focus.  Happily this is simply fixed by evaluating each one in terms of priorities and the Importance and Urgency scale.
  3. I had no action plan.  This one was the biggest factor.  For example, I had a monthly reading goal.  While I truly love reading, I had no real plan to hit that goal, instead simply picking a book that seemed pertinent, reading it when I can, and then picking another one when I was done.  As a new action plan, I’ve started picking out my books for the month in advance, and seeing how much I need to read daily in order to hit the goal.

So with a fresh goal card, I set to work.  I evaluated which goals were applicable, and which were my top goals to hit.  Then I developed action plans for each of these goals.  I’m sure it comes as no surprise that the progress made within a week of that reset was far more than any week before it.

Have you looked at your goals for 2015 recently?  How have you been doing, and what tips do you have to share on how to stay on track?

Leave a Reply

